top of page
3.a.ii.1-2©Jean-Baptiste Millot copie.jpg
IMG_5491  Lyodoh KANEKO copie.jpg

Victor Julien-Laferrière

First Prize winner of the Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2017 (the first year dedicated to cello), Victor Julien-Laferrière was described as ​“one of the most reliable talents of the young generation of French cellists” by Diapason magazine. He was also awarded the first prize and two special prizes at the 2012 Prague Spring International Competition, and in 2018 he was awarded the Victoire de la Musique in France as Instrumental Soloist of the Year.

The 2023/24 season sees him perform with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and Simone Lamsma under the baton of Domingo Hindoyan, as well as Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France with Mikko Franck, Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra, Belgium National Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Stuttgart Staadtheater Orchestra, Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra and Orchestre d’Auvergne and Thomas Zehetmair. He will perform recitals and chamber music at Hohenem’s Schubertiade, Philharmonie de Paris and Louisiana Museum. Additionally, he founded his own ensemble, Consuelo, which collaborates intensively with many leading French festivals, and he will conduct Consuelo at the Theatre des Champs-Elysées, amongst other French festivals and concert halls.

Further afield, Victor Julien-Laferrière has performed with renowned orchestras worldwide, including Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, hr-Sinfonieorchester, Orchestre de Paris, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Orchestre National de France, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Orchestre National de Lyon, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra,Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra, Brussels Philharmonic, Belgium National Orchestra, Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de Chambre Paris, Les Siècles, Orchestre Philharmonique de Strasbourg, RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, Nordwestdeutsche Philharmonie, and with prestigious conductors such as Valery Gergiev, Kristiina Poska, Emmanuel Krivine, Tugan Sokhiev, Elim Chan, Maxim Emelyanychev, François-Xavier Roth, Jun Märkl, Philippe Herreweghe, Nathalie Stutzmann, Stéphane Denève, Joshua Weilerstein, Eivind Gullberg Jensen, Gergely Madaras and Ben Glassberg.

bottom of page